Page 1 of 1

Fallout 4 woes

Posted: Thu Aug 02, 2018 12:00 pm
by Drunk Mexican
Fallout 4 has been in my Steam Library for a while, so I decided to try it out today. Sadly, the game crashes straight to the desktop after about 5 minutes of play. No error message, nothing.

I did the usual Google-Fu to try to find answers on how to fix it. Lots of people seem to have this same problem, but none of the answers I found have helped so far.

I don't expect you all to do research for me, I was just wondering if this had happened to others in the community, and if you figured out a way to fix it.

Thanks!

System Info:
  • No Fallout 4 game mods
  • No Fallout 4 DLC installed
  • Playing at 2560x1440 at High Settings
  • i7 7700k, GTX 1080, 32 GB Ram, Windows 10
  • Video Drivers and Windows up to date

Re: Fallout 4 woes

Posted: Thu Aug 02, 2018 4:38 pm
by citizenskippy
Do you have multiple monitors plugged in? For some games on older engines I had to use only one monitor to get the game to run correctly.

Re: Fallout 4 woes

Posted: Thu Aug 02, 2018 4:40 pm
by Drunk Mexican
citizenskippy wrote:
Thu Aug 02, 2018 4:38 pm
Do you have multiple monitors plugged in? For some games on older engines I had to use only one monitor to get the game to run correctly.
I had never heard of that, but I only have a single monitor on my gaming machine.

Re: Fallout 4 woes

Posted: Fri Aug 03, 2018 9:11 am
by xeromist
Stock clocks? Disabled background processes?

Re: Fallout 4 woes

Posted: Fri Aug 03, 2018 10:04 am
by Drunk Mexican
xeromist wrote:
Fri Aug 03, 2018 9:11 am
Stock clocks? Disabled background processes?
Yup, all stock, no OC.

Not sure what you mean by this "Disabled background processes?"

Do you mean turning off all the apps running in the background? Like Origin, Corsair Link, etc.
Do you also mean opening up Services and stopping anything I'm not currently using?

Re: Fallout 4 woes

Posted: Fri Aug 03, 2018 1:33 pm
by xeromist
Drunk Mexican wrote:
Fri Aug 03, 2018 10:04 am
xeromist wrote:
Fri Aug 03, 2018 9:11 am
Stock clocks? Disabled background processes?
Yup, all stock, no OC.

Not sure what you mean by this "Disabled background processes?"

Do you mean turning off all the apps running in the background? Like Origin, Corsair Link, etc.
Do you also mean opening up Services and stopping anything I'm not currently using?
How far you want to go is up to you but yes I would start with Origin, Corsair Link, PrecisionX, GPUz, etc. If it didn't come with Windows and you don't need it to run the game I would close it. The likelihood that Origin would cause a game to crash is pretty low but you'll kick yourself if you spend days troubleshooting this and find out it was a bit of conflicting software.

I'd also try just idling in the menu to see if it's tied to actual gameplay. Then try loading into game and idling in place. Try disabling and lowering all graphical quality settings in the game to see if it's possibly related to a problematic feature. The more you can potentially narrow down the circumstances of the crash the better you'll be able to search.

Sorry if you've tried most of this. Just talking through what I would do.

Re: Fallout 4 woes

Posted: Fri Aug 03, 2018 2:03 pm
by Drunk Mexican
xeromist wrote:
Fri Aug 03, 2018 1:33 pm
How far you want to go is up to you but yes I would start with Origin, Corsair Link, PrecisionX, GPUz, etc. If it didn't come with Windows and you don't need it to run the game I would close it. The likelihood that Origin would cause a game to crash is pretty low but you'll kick yourself if you spend days troubleshooting this and find out it was a bit of conflicting software.
Sounds good.
xeromist wrote:
Fri Aug 03, 2018 1:33 pm
I'd also try just idling in the menu to see if it's tied to actual gameplay. Then try loading into game and idling in place. Try disabling and lowering all graphical quality settings in the game to see if it's possibly related to a problematic feature. The more you can potentially narrow down the circumstances of the crash the better you'll be able to search.

Sorry if you've tried most of this. Just talking through what I would do.
This is genius, I tried lowering the graphics quality already, but the other things you mentioned here I would not have thought of. Thank you! I'll give it a try, great way to narrow it down :)

Re: Fallout 4 woes

Posted: Sun Aug 05, 2018 9:04 am
by CyberCrist
If you have GeForce Experience installed, disable the overlay in the game.

Re: Fallout 4 woes

Posted: Sat Sep 22, 2018 9:10 pm
by Drunk Mexican
I finally got a little time to play tonight and got this resolved. Looks like you guys were right. I disabled Discord, Razer Synapse, Battle.net, Origin, Corsair LINK, and GeForce Experience. Not sure which one was the culprit, but I was then able to play uninterrupted for about 2 hours until I stopped.

Thanks for the tips!
:D

Re: Fallout 4 woes

Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2018 7:17 pm
by CyberCrist
Drunk Mexican wrote:
Sat Sep 22, 2018 9:10 pm
I finally got a little time to play tonight and got this resolved. Looks like you guys were right. I disabled Discord, Razer Synapse, Battle.net, Origin, Corsair LINK, and GeForce Experience. Not sure which one was the culprit, but I was then able to play uninterrupted for about 2 hours until I stopped.

Thanks for the tips!
:D
WOOT!