Apex 100% my CPU

Post Reply
User avatar
xkro
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 4:53 pm
City: Gresham
State: Oregon

Apex 100% my CPU

Post by xkro » Sat Mar 16, 2019 12:15 pm

Hey everyone,
I've been struggling with Apex at around 80-100% CPU usage and almost 70% ram usage.

Processor: i5-8400 CPU @ 2.8ghz
Graphics Card: GTX 980ti
RAM: 16gb I think DDR3?


Should this be a problem and should I be hitting 100% cpu usage?
Leader of Skrub Quest

User avatar
thetruejaster
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 2:30 pm
City: Gresham
State: Oregon
Contact:

Re: Apex 100% my CPU

Post by thetruejaster » Sat Mar 16, 2019 9:31 pm

Go to windows settings > gaming > and disable BOTH game bar and game mode.
T24 Group Lead since 22
PDXLAN: 20-32ab, F18
NovLAN: 20.5, 2015-2017
VectorLAN: 5, 7, 8

User avatar
xkro
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 4:53 pm
City: Gresham
State: Oregon

Re: Apex 100% my CPU

Post by xkro » Sun Mar 17, 2019 11:46 am

Both of those have been off.

I went into the properties and capped my FPS to 75. That seems to have helped a bit. Only spiking to 100% one or two times during a game so far.
Leader of Skrub Quest

User avatar
thetruejaster
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 2:30 pm
City: Gresham
State: Oregon
Contact:

Re: Apex 100% my CPU

Post by thetruejaster » Sun Mar 17, 2019 6:06 pm

Manually exit GeForce Experience and load without it?
T24 Group Lead since 22
PDXLAN: 20-32ab, F18
NovLAN: 20.5, 2015-2017
VectorLAN: 5, 7, 8

User avatar
xkro
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 4:53 pm
City: Gresham
State: Oregon

Re: Apex 100% my CPU

Post by xkro » Tue Mar 19, 2019 1:54 pm

Well, it's not just APEX. I started playing Satisfactory, and that is also doing constant 80%-100% cpu usage. Is soemthing wrong with my CPU? I feel it shouldn't be struggling this much.
Leader of Skrub Quest

User avatar
thetruejaster
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 2:30 pm
City: Gresham
State: Oregon
Contact:

Re: Apex 100% my CPU

Post by thetruejaster » Tue Mar 19, 2019 4:42 pm

Last time I had a similar problem it was GeForce experience. Fresh install fixed it.

I would check Windows Gaming modes -> Geforce experience -> driver clean install.
T24 Group Lead since 22
PDXLAN: 20-32ab, F18
NovLAN: 20.5, 2015-2017
VectorLAN: 5, 7, 8

User avatar
somethingcool
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 2:41 pm
City: Beaverton
State: Oregon

Re: Apex 100% my CPU

Post by somethingcool » Tue Mar 19, 2019 6:27 pm

Try running a 3dmark benchmark (Firestrike or Time Spy) and post up the results here. You can compare your score to other systems with the same CPU to see if there is a large performance delta.

User avatar
citizenskippy
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 11:45 pm
City: Beaverton
State: Oregon

Re: Apex 100% my CPU

Post by citizenskippy » Tue Mar 19, 2019 9:11 pm

I had this problem before I uninstalled GeForce Experience.

User avatar
xkro
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 4:53 pm
City: Gresham
State: Oregon

Re: Apex 100% my CPU

Post by xkro » Wed Mar 20, 2019 9:20 am

citizenskippy wrote:
Tue Mar 19, 2019 9:11 pm
I had this problem before I uninstalled GeForce Experience.
You just straight up uninstalled it?
somethingcool wrote:
Tue Mar 19, 2019 6:27 pm
Try running a 3dmark benchmark (Firestrike or Time Spy) and post up the results here. You can compare your score to other systems with the same CPU to see if there is a large performance delta.
I'll try this when I get home later tonight.
Leader of Skrub Quest

User avatar
thetruejaster
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 2:30 pm
City: Gresham
State: Oregon
Contact:

Re: Apex 100% my CPU

Post by thetruejaster » Wed Mar 20, 2019 4:04 pm

GFE is a handy tool but with driver gaps it can cause some really wonky side effects.
T24 Group Lead since 22
PDXLAN: 20-32ab, F18
NovLAN: 20.5, 2015-2017
VectorLAN: 5, 7, 8

User avatar
citizenskippy
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 11:45 pm
City: Beaverton
State: Oregon

Re: Apex 100% my CPU

Post by citizenskippy » Wed Mar 20, 2019 4:08 pm

I uninstalled GFE. I don't use it nor plan to use it. I had system performance issues when I first installed it a while ago. I make sure to install only the drivers when I do updates.

Post Reply